Simplicity of Eggs

My love for basic food will never go away. To me, steaming a big bowl of vegetables or a grilled seasoned sea bass beats heavy dishes with fancy sauces any day. Maybe it’s due to my time-constraint or having to buy all those spices, but I like to keep it simple.

So it’s a no-brainer that hardboiled eggs fall into a daily staple of mine. I don’t mind the calories of the yolk, and you shouldn’t either. Supposedly Australians eat an average of four eggs a day, and I can see why.

There’s actually quite a few (uncomplicated) steps involved when boiling eggs:
1. Place the eggs in pan with cold water and a splash of vinegar. The water should be an inch or two above the eggs.
2. Put heat on high. Close lid.
3. Simmer water when it starts to boil.
4.  Let simmer for 7-10 minutes depending on the number of eggs.
5. Turn off heat and let eggs cool in the water.

An overcooked egg (which is not really a problem) will have a green lining on the outside of the yolk. No big deal. Try not to burn yourself diving into these babies. I have them for breakfast or whenever I think I’m lacking protein in my meals.

More food recipes to come!

Au revoir.

Leave a Reply

