2009 in Reflection

Thinking back to what seems like eternity, 2009 has been the best year of my life. Cliche. yes, but I truly have gained and grown entirely this year.

My first blessing is becoming Editor-in-Chief of BARE Magazine, which came entirely as a surprise into my lap. The transition was tough and many other activities had to be sacrificed, but it led me in an entirely new direction in life. I can now confidently say I want to work in the fashion industry and developed my own unique aesthetic. To become my own critic is so liberating. Ignore what style.com or Cathy Horyn has to say, you’re the only interpretation that matters. As long as you can eloquently state your opinion, you’re armed with the tools, especially in this new digital age.

Elena, me, and (old hair) Jordan at the BARE i5 Launch Party

Secondly, I’ve made some entirely new friends who I wouldn’t give up for the world. I’ve learned the most about people, life lessons, and especially myself through these people. These experiences I can’t take back and I’m sure as hell glad I can’t. I’ll probably always feel a strong connection with these people, even when they’re on the other coast of the country (shout-out!).

Moved out of the dreaded Bowles Hall (though I admit I miss the people sometimes) and got myself a studio apartment. It fits me to the “T” and I’m glad to have the financial stability and independence to live in it. More than anything, this is a big thank-you to my parents who have never given me hardships with money. It’s such a blessing to be able to experience a college life where I don’t have to worry about mice or mold.

And that age-old college conundrum of what career you want to pursue after secondary education. Fashion is that strange escape where I don’t feel like work is tedious but more of a very guilty pleasure. This summer I had an amazing chance to intern for Bismarck Phillips, a fashion PR, and skimmed the surface of what it feels like to be more than a spectator. To be terse, the experience is quite exhilarating.

Luckily, I don’t feel at odds with this whole fashion thing. Berkeley has a surprising number of very successful fashion entrepreneurs graduating. I’ve always felt some kind of eerie passion in the East Bay area where everyone just seems to want to succeed. Hopefully, I’ll draw in more of that air in 2010.

Lastly, I end with many opportunities of the future. Since attending Los Angeles Fashion Week and getting an amazing first-row experience, I’m glad to say that New York is not far away (in February). Can’t wait to experience the whirlwind yet again, this time in full force. Also, I’m eagerly waiting for an internship opportunity to follow through. Fingers are definitely crossed!

Everything seems a bit like a fairytale. Here’s to a new year!

Au revoir.

3 responses to “2009 in Reflection

  1. jeez, i can’t believe all that seems to have happened in year. CRAYCRAY. by the time we’re done with berkeley, half of it will be covered in glitter and the other half will be draped in long-flowy…you know. ahahaha 🙂

  2. that was the sweetest, most endearing thing ever. love it 🙂

  3. thanks for the mice&mold shoutout <33

Leave a Reply

